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AN OVERVIEW OF MOTOR VEHICLE STATUTES & 
REGULATIONS 

 IMPACTING NEW JERSEY FARMERS 
December 2010 (revised) 

 
 

‘Farmer’ License Plates for Vehicle: N.J.S.A. 39:3-25 allows ‘Farmer’ plates for motor 
trucks engaged in the carrying or transportation of farm products, and farm supplies, 
and not engaged in hauling for hire, except for a truck being operated under contract 
with a municipality to remove snow. Vehicles with ‘Farmer’ plates can now be used for 
personal use. N.J.A.C. 13:21-12.8 prohibits a vehicle with ‘Farmer’ plates towing a farm 
implement to travel on any highway that is a part of the National System of Interstate 
and Defense Highways, or any highway designated a freeway or parkway.  

 
‘Farm Use’ Plates & Farm Tractors Exempt from Registration: Under N.J.S.A. 
39:24, ‘Farm Use’ plates can be issued for farm machinery or farm implements to travel 
on public highways from one farm to another farm. The hours of operation are limited to 
sunrise to sunset and cannot be used to travel more than 15 miles from the farm.  Motor 
vehicle regulations governing vehicles with ‘Farm Use’ plates can be found in N.J.A.C. 
13:21 et. seq. Under N.J.S.A. 39:3-24(c), farm tractors, traction equipment, farm 
machinery or farm implements, not for hire, that cannot be operated at a speed in 
excess of 20 miles per hour need not be registered with the Division of Motor Vehicles. 
Farmers are encouraged to keep a copy of the statutory exemption on hand when 
operating this farm equipment on the highway.  
 
Commercial Drivers License (CDL): If a farmer is traveling intrastate, within 150 miles 
of their farm and not hauling for hire, Federal regulations and NJ’s statute (N.J.S.A. 
39:3-10(k)) exempt farmers from CDLs. However, the federal regulations require that a 
reciprocity agreement must be in place for the exemption to be recognized during 
interstate travel. New Jersey has a reciprocity agreement with Delaware and 
Pennsylvania recognizing the CDL exemption. No other state has agreed to sign a 
reciprocity agreement with NJ. Farmers are encouraged to keep a copy of the 
exemption in their vehicle. The agreements can be downloaded by visiting 
www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/prog/farmermotorvehicles.html#9. For more 
information on the regulations governing Federal CDL licensing, visit the web at 
www.fmcsa.dot.gov and link with the regulations section. A commercial motor vehicle 
means any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle used on a highway in interstate 
commerce to transport passengers or property when the vehicle 1) has a GVWR or 
gross combination weight rating, or gross vehicle weight or gross combination weight of 
26,001 pounds or more; whichever is less or is designed or used to transport more than 
8 passengers (including driver) for compensation; or is designed or used to transport 16 
or more passengers, including driver, and is not used to transport passengers for 
compensation.  

http://www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/prog/farmermotorvehicles.html#9
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
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Medical Certificate: Drivers of articulated vehicles, including farm vehicles, with a 
GCWR of 10,001 pound or more are required to possess a current medical certificate. 
Drivers who operate straight trucks, including farm vehicles, are exempt from medical 
certificates if all of the following conditions regarding the farm vehicle are met:  
controlled and operated by a farmer; used to transport either agricultural products, farm 
machinery, farm supplies, or both, to or from a farm; not being used as a for-hire motor 
carrier; not carrying hazardous materials; and being used within 150 air-miles of the 
farmer’s farm. 

International Registration Plan (IRP): IRP is a cooperative agreement for registering 
vehicles that travel interstate (between states).  Commercial vehicles based in NJ will 
register with the NJ’s Motor Carrier Unit and are issued one apportioned plate (or set of 
plates) and one cab card that lists all of the states for which the vehicle is authorized to 
travel. IRP covers apportioned vehicles used for transportation of persons for hire or 
designed, used or maintained primarily for the transportation of property and: 1) is a 
power unit having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle 
weight in excess of 26,000 lbs.; 2) or is a power unit having three or more axles, 
regardless of weight; or is used in combination, when the weight of such combination 
exceeds 26,000 lbs. Commercial vehicle displaying restrictive plates, such as ‘Farmer’ 
plates, are exempt from IRP.  
 

NOTE: An agreement was signed between New Jersey  and Delaware, New 
York and  Pennsylvania  in which they recognize New Jersey’s ‘Farmer’ plate 
exemption. New Jersey views ‘Farmer” plates as commercial plates (restricted 
plates). Farmers are encouraged to keep copies of the agreement in the vehicle. 
Visit www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/prog/farmermotorvehicles.html#9 for a 
copy of the agreements.  For additional information concerning IRP, contact the 
Motor Carrier Unit, IRP Section, at (609) 633-9399 or visit www.state.nj.us/mvc.  

 
Markings on Commercial Vehicles and USDOT Numbers: Federal regulations 
require that all commercial vehicles 10,001 pound or more that travel interstate must 
display their name and USDOT number on both sides of the power unit. Commercial 
motor vehicles with ‘Farmer’ plates that travel interstate must have a DOT number 
displayed. If the vehicle is only used for intrastate travel, New Jersey does not require a 
USDOT number. For more details visit www.fmcsa.dot.gov and view the vehicle 
marking regulations (390.21). To register for a USDOT number, visit 
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/forms/usdot/Dotno.htm. There is no fee to register for a USDOT 
number. In addition to the federal requirements, NJ law requires every vehicle use for 
commercial purposes, including ‘farmer’ and ‘farm use plates’,  to display the name and 
municipality no less than three inches high. Commercial motor vehicles with a gross 
vehicle rating or combined gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more must 
also display the GVWR. 
 
 
 

http://www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/prog/farmermotorvehicles.html#9
http://www.state.nj.us/mvc
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/forms/usdot/Dotno.htm
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Unified Carrier Registration (UCR): Any vehicle 10,001 pounds or more that travels 
interstate must register with the Uniform Carrier Registration (UCR). Under UCR any 
power units or trailers that travel interstate are assessed a UCR fee.  A New Jersey 
motor carrier, motor private carrier (most farms fall in this category), broker, freight 
forwarder, or leasing company conducting interstate transportation must choose a 
single base state with which it shall register and pay its UCR agreement fee.   UCR fees 
are based on the size of the fleet. To save money, only register those power units that 
may travel interstate. Since New Jersey is not enrolled in the UCR program, an entity is 
required to choose a participating UCR state that is nearest to the entity's principal 
place of business. When New Jersey becomes a UCR participating state, the entity 
shall, effective with the first registration year in which the state is a participating state, 
choose the state as its base state.  Enforcement of the UCR started on November 15, 
2007. NOTE: Before you register with the UCR, you must have a USDOT number. 
Once you have a USDOT number, you can register on-line at the UCR National Web 
site at www.ucr.in.gov and follow the step-by-step instructions. 
 
Commercial Trucks & Cargo Vans Require Alerts: All commercial trucks or cargo 
vans registered in NJ with a cargo area over 18 feet long must have an electronic rear 
backup monitoring device or a cross-view mirror located at the top left rear corner of the 
cargo area. “Farmer” plates are considered commercial. 
 
Exemption from Diesel Emission Inspection (Puff Test): Diesel-powered motor 
vehicles with a GVWR of 8,500 or more pounds and registered with ‘Farmer’ or ‘Farm 
Use’ plates are exempt from the periodic diesel emission inspection requirements. 
(N.J.A.C. 13:20-26.17) Farmers are encouraged to keep a copy of the exemption in 
their vehicle. Visit the following web site for a copy of the regulation  
www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/prog/farmermotorvehicles.html. 
 
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA): IFTA is an agreement among states and 
Canadian provinces to simplify the reporting of fuel taxes by interjurisdictional & 
interstate motor carriers. ‘Farmer” plated vehicles are exempt from IFTA registration if 
they do not leave NJ. IFTA regulations require that a commercial vehicle used for 
transportation of persons or property with at least two axles and a gross vehicle weight 
exceeding 26,000 lbs. or used in combination, and the combination exceeds 26,000 lbs. 
or three or more axles regardless of weight that travels interstate (between states) must 
register with IFTA. For more information, contact the NJ Division of Motor Vehicles, 
IFTA Unit, at (609) 633-9400 or visit www.state.nj.us/mvc/Commercial/IFTA.htm on the 
web. 
 
Agricultural License for Students: An agriculture license (Class G) is only valid for 
16-17 years olds, and is to be used solely for farming purposes (the vehicle cannot be 
used for personal use). A basic driver license (Class D) can also be used to operate 
farming vehicles. The restrictions that come with the agricultural license include:  May 
only operate vehicles registered under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 39:3-24 (farm tractors 
and traction equipment – “Farm Use”) or N.J.S.A. 39:3-25 (“Farmer”); no driving 
between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.; you can't use cell phones, hand held video games or 

http://www.ucr.in.gov/
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any other hand held electronic device; when driving a farm truck registered pursuant to 
N.J.S.A. 39:4-24 or 4-25 on public roads, the driver must be accompanied by an Adult 
Supervising Driver (at least 21 years old and licensed to drive for at least 3 years) in the 
front seat (does not apply to farm tractors or traction equipment); passengers shall be 
limited to persons who share the permit holder's residence and one additional 
passenger who does not reside with the permit holder; seatbelts must be worn at all 
times (does not apply to farm tractors or traction equipment); and an agriculture license 
cannot be used to drive any other type of vehicle. 
 
Reflective Tape on Trailers or Semitrailers: All trailers and semitrailers with an overall 
width of 80 inches or more and a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or more must have reflective 
sheeting or reflex reflectors in federally mandated colors and patterns. For the 
appropriate location of the material on trailers, visit the web at www.fmcsa.dot.gov and 
link with regulation 393.13. 
 
Transporting Migrant Workers: Federal regulations (383.3) cover transporting 
passengers and require a CDL license for commercial motor vehicles used on a 
highway in interstate commerce to transport passengers when the vehicle is designed 
or used to transport more than 16 passengers, including the driver, and is not used to 
transport passengers for compensation. Part 398 of the Federal Motor Safety Act is a 
separate section that covers transportation of migrant workers. This regulation goes into 
effect when transporting interstate 3 or more migrant workers to or from employment by 
any motor vehicle other than a passenger automobile or station wagon for a total 
distance of more than seventy-five miles. In addition, NJ Motor Vehicle regulations 
address transporting migrant workers and the driver’s basic qualifications and vehicle 
safety equipment (N.J.A.C. 13:21 et seq.). Visit the federal regulations section on the 
web at www.fmcsa.dot.gov. NOTE: U.S. Department of Labor regulations contain 
additional provisions for vehicle safety when transporting workers (29 CFR 500.105). 

 
 
To assist New Jersey’s agriculture industry on the various motor vehicle issues 
surrounding farm vehicles, the New Jersey Department of Agriculture has 
established a web site.  “Motor Vehicle Laws and Regulations Impacting 
Farmers” and copies of the documents mentioned above can be found at  
www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/prog/farmermotorvehicles.html.   
 
Questions on these issues and other farm related motor vehicle questions can be 
directed to: 
 
 Karen Kritz 
 Agricultural Economic Development 
 NJ Department of Agriculture  
 PO Box 330 
 Trenton NJ 08625-0330 
 (609) 984-2506  
 Email:  Karen.Kritz@ag.state.nj.us. 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
http://www.nj.gov/agriculture/divisions/md/prog/farmermotorvehicles.html
mailto:Karen.Kritz@ag.state.nj.us

